Drunk berries, breakfast and margaritas

A week ago I promised to post about the delicious concoction that is drunk berries but, life has a way of intervening in our best laid plans. Drunk berries are nothing complicated or mysterious, fresh berries, sugar, and bourbon. Clean the berries like normal, sugar to taste, and a healthy splash of bourbon. Place in the refrigerator for several hours to allow the sugar and bourbon to work their magic on the berries. The end result are berries that are slightly sweet, fresh tasting, and will keep for much longer without turning into moldy mush.

When I was just a wee thing, my favorite food in the world was pancakes. I would request them every morning for breakfast and then Mum and I would walk to Knott’s Berry Farm where I would feed the chickens. This was a daily ritual we both loved. I still love pancakes although I no longer eat them on a regular basis. I will admit that I am a pancake snob, I really only eat pancakes made by myself or Mum to this day.

When I made pancakes for breakfast last Sunday, I warmed the drunk berries and poured them over the fluffy stacks of pancakes. The drunk berries, the real maple syrup, and peppery bacon made for the perfect accompaniment to steaming, dark cups of coffee. Hubby and I started Sunday off on the right foot thanks for the drunk berries and pancakes.

The perfect Sunday breakfast was capped off with grapefruit margaritas. Nothing like fresh squeezed grapefruits and tequila to put the perfect drink together on a lovely summer evening.

Leave a Reply

